Making Money from Misery

 

Imagine that you are a doctor of medicine, and that you have discovered a cure for a terrible disease, let’s say cancer. You offer people this cure, in return for a lot of money.

Then somebody publicly expresses doubt about your cure, even says it doesn’t work. What should you do?

Well, if I was in that situation, I would provide evidence for the efficacy of my cure. That would silence critics, if I could demonstrate the truthfulness of my claim. I wouldn’t be shy about it either. I’d shout my evidence from the rooftops. After all, it would benefit many people, and make me a lot of money too.

But what if my “cure” didn’t work, and the whole thing was a scam?

If I were so unscrupulous, I think I would attempt to silence those critics, perhaps with threats to take legal action. I needn’t even spend any of my ill-gotten gains on professional legal advice. I could just send intimidating messages, especially when I know my critics don’t have the small fortune it would take to defend themselves, and would in all likelihood be cowered into silence.

Now, I don’t know that the Burzynski Clinic, in Houston, Texas, is indulging in such underhand dealings, and I don’t know, for a fact, that their alleged cancer cure is bogus.

What is one to think, though, when there has been no evidence for this “cure” provided, despite repeated requests, and there have been repeated legal threats, often hysterical and unprofessional in tone.

It’s so puzzling.

Further, essential, reading:

http://rhysmorgan.co/2011/11/threats-from-the-burzynski-clinic/

http://www.quackometer.net/blog/2011/11/the-burzynski-clinic-threatens-my-family.html

http://cancerhelp.cancerresearchuk.org/about-cancer/cancer-questions/what-is-antineoplaston-therapy

http://www.cancer.org/…/antineoplaston-therapy

http://www.faith.altbush.com/tumor/vol24n36.pdf

…or just Google “Burzynski Clinic”

5 responses to “Making Money from Misery

  1. Pingback: When Charlatans Attack! | DaveD's Blog

  2. Oh, and among the references is this publication, which I can’t find…
    “The antineoplaston anomaly: how a drug was used for decades in thousands of patients, with no safety, efficacy data. Cancer Lett. 1998;24(36).”

    Like

  3. Cheers mate, I’ve added that link to the post.

    Like

  4. http://www.cancer.org/Treatment/TreatmentsandSideEffects/ComplementaryandAlternativeMedicine/PharmacologicalandBiologicalTreatment/antineoplaston-therapy
    I mean, if you would believe someone from ‘cancer.org’ lol
    From the article…
    “Are there any possible problems or complications?
    These substances may have not been thoroughly tested to find out how they interact with medicines, foods, or dietary supplements. Even though some reports of interactions and harmful effects may be published, full studies of interactions and effects are not often available. Because of these limitations, any information on ill effects and interactions below should be considered incomplete.
    Proponents claim that antineoplaston therapy is ‘nontoxic.’ However, reported side effects include stomach gas, slight rashes, chills, fever, change in blood pressure, unpleasant body odor during treatment, sleepiness, confusion, and seizures. High levels of blood sodium can also be a significant problem with this therapy.

    It is not known whether antineoplastons would cause any problems due to interactions with other medications.

    Relying on this type of treatment alone and avoiding or delaying conventional medical care for cancer may have serious health consequences.”

    I would urge anyone considering this ‘treatment’ to weigh the health risks against the demonstrated efficacy of the ‘treatment’ (which appears to be nil, so far)

    Like

Leave a Reply

