NHS Forever!

Not a day goes by that I don’t get at least one email advertising health insurance. No matter how quickly I mark it as spam, the advertisers change their email addresses and send it again. And again. And again.

Just how pointless it would be for me to take out private insurance, at least until the ConDem government sell off the NHS, was made clear to me over the past week.

I used to suffer from migraines, but hadn’t had one for some years when, last Friday evening, I seemed to develop just such a malaise. Over the next couple of days, however, it became obvious that it wasn’t a migraine, but something much worse and, on calling the doctor out, was rushed by ambulance to hospital with glaucoma.

With eye-drops, tablets and an injection, the condition was quickly stabilised, and three days later I had laser surgery to further reduce the internal pressure of the affected eye.

All free of charge on the day.

It’ll take a while to completely recover,but without the National Health Service, I’d be blind.

 

3 responses to “NHS Forever!

  1. Pingback: Eye Eye! What’s Going On? | DaveD's Blog

  2. You’ll know what I mean, now, about the smell of laser surgery?

    Like

    • Not really, I had a streaming cold and was concentrating on not sneezing!
      Besides, the procedure I had is much simpler than the corrective laser surgery you had – just blast a few holes to let the pressure out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

